BlackBerry Support Forum - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Diegomania is offline Member
    BlackBerry Device: Bold 9700
     
    Device Firmware: 5.0.0.321
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES)
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Vodafone.de
     
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20

    Delete User = Delete Device?

    Hi,

    only a simple and short question.

    If I use the "Delete User" function on the administration webpage, is the device being deleted from the BES config as well?

    Or do I have to delete the device manually and after that, delete the user?

    Thanks for your help.

    Cheers,
    Marcel

  2. #2
    GaryCutri's Avatar
    GaryCutri is offline Moderator
    BlackBerry Device: z10
     
    Device Firmware: 10.1.0.264
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry 10 - Standard Data Plan
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Telstra - Australia
     
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    18,193
    Blog Entries
    68
    Hi,

    When you delete a user via BAS it will remove the user and remove the device association with your BES. Prior to deleting a user you can perform a remote wipe by following the steps below (this will require a BlackBerry enabled SIM to still be in the device):

    1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service, on the BlackBerry Solution Management menu, expand User.
    2. Click Manage users.
    3. Search for a user account.
    4. In the search results, click on the PIN for the user account.
    5. In the Activation list, click Delete all device data and disable device.
    6. Click Yes - Delete all device data and disable device.

    If you have already deleted a user you can manually wipe the device using the steps below:

    Firmware versions lower than 5.0.0.x

    1. Go to Options
    2. Select Security Options
    3. Select General Settings
    4. Press the menu button (left of the trackball) and select Wipe Handheld
    5. Follow the prompts to factory reset the device

    Firmware version 5.0.0.x and above

    1. Go to Options
    2. Select Security Options
    3. Select Security Wipe
    4. Scroll to the bottom and type blackberry
    5. Select Wipe at the bottom

    Thanks,

    Gary

  3. #3
    Diegomania is offline Member
    BlackBerry Device: Bold 9700
     
    Device Firmware: 5.0.0.321
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES)
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Vodafone.de
     
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Hi Gary,

    thanks for that.

    But I was more thinking about the device still being present in the BES. So if I delete a user, will the associated device and its PIN still remain somewhere on the server? Or will the Device be removed from the config together with the user?

    Thanks,
    Marcel

  4. #4
    GaryCutri's Avatar
    GaryCutri is offline Moderator
    BlackBerry Device: z10
     
    Device Firmware: 10.1.0.264
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry 10 - Standard Data Plan
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Telstra - Australia
     
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    18,193
    Blog Entries
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Diegomania View Post
    Hi Gary,

    thanks for that.

    But I was more thinking about the device still being present in the BES. So if I delete a user, will the associated device and its PIN still remain somewhere on the server? Or will the Device be removed from the config together with the user?

    Thanks,
    Marcel
    "When you delete a user via BAS it will remove the user and remove the device association with your BES".

  5. #5
    Diegomania is offline Member
    BlackBerry Device: Bold 9700
     
    Device Firmware: 5.0.0.321
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES)
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Vodafone.de
     
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20
    Hi Gary,

    yes, you say that the device association will be removed. But that doesnt mean that the Device itself is also been removed from the config.

    So when I delete a user, the device PIN becomes also unknown to the server, right? And it is not still stored anywhere else, right?

    Thanks,
    Marcel

  6. #6
    GaryCutri's Avatar
    GaryCutri is offline Moderator
    BlackBerry Device: z10
     
    Device Firmware: 10.1.0.264
     
    Email Configuration: BlackBerry 10 - Standard Data Plan
     
    Mobile Carrier & location: Telstra - Australia
     
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    18,193
    Blog Entries
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Diegomania View Post
    Hi Gary,

    yes, you say that the device association will be removed. But that doesnt mean that the Device itself is also been removed from the config.

    So when I delete a user, the device PIN becomes also unknown to the server, right? And it is not still stored anywhere else, right?

    Thanks,
    Marcel
    To confirm, when you delete a user their device PIN (and any other device information) is also removed from the BES.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't Delete User
    By spritzup in forum General BES Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 23-12-2012, 12:51 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-07-2012, 05:44 PM
  3. Messages deleted in Outlook don't delete on device
    By battlehillboi in forum BlackBerry General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 02:29 PM
  4. User wont reactivate after delete
    By Jay-Dee in forum Microsoft Exchange
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 07:43 PM
  5. Delete only from Blackberry Device
    By aaron in forum BlackBerry Legacy Device Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-07-2008, 07:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1